Associate Professor Tomislav Friščić


Tomislav Friščić is an Associate Professor at McGill University. He received his B.Sc. at the University of Zagreb with Branko Kaitner, followed by a Ph.D. with Len MacGillivray at the University of Iowa. He was a post-doctoral associate with William Jones and a Herchel Smith Research Fellow at the University of Cambridge. His group is developing solid-state catalytic and self-assembly methodologies in diverse areas of organic, metal-organic, pharmaceutical and materials synthesis. He has co-authored >150 research and review articles and was awarded the 2011 RSC Harrison-Meldola Medal. In 2013 he joined the Editorial Board of CrystEngComm and is an Associate Editor for Molecular Crystals & Liquid Crystals and is the Social Media Editor for Crystal Growth & Design. He also serves as the Canadian representative in the American Crystallographic Association (ACA) and is the vice-chair of the Canadian National Committee for Crystallography (CNCC).


2002-2006   Ph.D. in Chemistry with Prof. L. R. MacGillivray (February 2006), University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA.

Thesis title: Linear templates and hydrogen bonding as general tools to control reactivity in molecular co-crystals 
1997-2001 B. Sc. in Chemistry with Prof. B. Kaitner (October 2001),  University of Zagreb, Zagreb, Croatia.

Thesis title: Molecular and Crystal Structures of Schiff Bases Derived from Non-branched Aliphatic α,ω-Diamines  and Their Metal Complexes  

University of Iowa University of Cambridge


2016 -

Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry McGill University (Early Tenure)

2016 - Adjunct Researcher, Institute Ruđer Bošković


Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, McGill University


Herchel Smith Research Fellow and Fellow of Sidney Sussex College, Department of Chemistry, University of Cambridge


Postdoctoral research at the University of Cambridge Chemistry Department and Pfizer Institute for Pharmaceutical Materials Science with Prof. W. Jones


Research Assistant, University of Iowa, Iowa, USA


Teaching Assistant (Principles of Chemistry, Organic Chemistry Laboratory), University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA


Teaching Assistant at the Laboratory for General and Inorganic Chemistry, University of Zagreb, Croatia


2017-2019 NSERC E. W. R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship
2017-2020 NSERC Discovery Accelerator
2016 McGill University Principal’s Award for Outstanding Emerging Researchers
2015-2019 McGill University Dawson Research Scholar (Tier 2 Canada Research Chair equivalent)
2015-2017 McGill University Tomlinson Research Award
2014 RSC ChemComm Emerging Investigator Award and Lectureship 2014 for Organic Chemistry (3 lectures: University of Ottawa, University College London and ICCOSS, Japan)
2013 Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK)
2011 RSC Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prize and Lectureship (three lectures) for "developing solid-state methodologies which explore and combine new types of molecular self-assembly"
2008-2011 Herchel Smith Research Fellow and Fellow of Sidney Sussex College, Department of Chemistry, University of Cambridge
2010 Best poster award at the 2010 Winter School on Chemistry and Physics of Materials, Bangalore, India
2008 Invited as a prominent young scientist at the Set for Britain exhibition, House of Commons, London, UK
2005 Research internship in microbial biotechnology in the research group of Glenn R. Johnson, Air Force Research Laboratory, Tyndall Air Force Base, Florida, U.S.
2004 NSF Workshop on 'Models of Thought Processes: Insights toward Chemical Systems' Arlington, Virginia, USA University of Iowa Graduate College 3rd Place Award for the Top Presentation in Mathematical & Physical Sciences & Engineering at the James F. Jakobsen Graduate Forum
2003-2006 Center for Biocatalysis and Bioprocessing Doctoral Fellowship
2002-2003 Graduate Tuition Scholarship, University of Iowa
2001 University of Zagreb Faculty of Science Award for Outstanding Achievements
1999-2002 Head of Croatian Chemical Society Student Division
1999-2001 Student representative at the University of Zagreb Student Senate
1998 University of Zagreb Dean's Award for undergraduate research